Skip to content

A while, and several books

December 26, 2011

Life goes by in a blink of an eye, so make the most of it! I got the job at the grocery-store, so now I have three jobs. I still have time to friends, family and last, but not least, reading books. I’ve finished reading a few books lately. I read Darkness becomes her by Kelly Keaton. The main character is a teenage girl, who never really fitted in anywhere, but at the moment she is searcing for her parents (as in: who where they and why did they leave her?). Turns out that her mother was in a mental hospital when she comitted suicide. The city of New Orleans in the book is a bit different from what we’re used to,  variouse creatures live there. We follow the girl, Ari, on her quest to figure out her life, and why the only message she has from her mother is one singel word: RUN. As far as I understand, there will be a next book, but it’s not due until sometime in the beginning of 2012. I’m waiting…

Still in the world of young adult books with fiction is a book from Tera Lynn Childs: Forgive my fins. As some would gather from the title (if you read a lot of this kind of books), mermaids are a big part of the book. Love is of course in the mix, as it is with trouble, family and mistakes. It was a book that was easy to read, and even though I liked it, it didn’t really stick in my mind for that long. It does have a sequel (Fins are forever), so I intend to read that too.

I’ve read the first two books about Nora and Patch by Becca Fitzpatrick, and I’ve just finished the third, Silence. Something about the story just draws me in, though I’m not quite sure what it is. Is it the forbidden love? or is it the struggel to stay true to the ones you love? Or is it the fallen angels (I haven’t read much about them before)? Or is it simple the fact that even though I can guess some of what will happen, the writer always puts in some twist and turns that I don’t expect? I’m starting to have a strong feeling that it is the last option that is the most correct one.

I’ve finally borrow, and read the last book of the serie about Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan; Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The last Olympian. (I love the serie so much that I gave my nephew the first book for christmas). Just like the other books, it revolves around Percy Jackson, and the gods of greek mythology. Of course there is a lot of action, but since Percy are now 16 years old, there are starting to be some love, jealousy and generally growing up in this book. Since this is the fifth book, I’m glad that the author have been able to develop the characters, and that we could follow them as they grew up. Rick Riordan has written another serie, the kane chronicles, that I didn’t like. Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea of using the egyptian mythology, but I got so annoyed that the characters in the book would sort of speak to me. I love the feeling of being “in” the story, I don’t like the feeling of sitting outside, having to look in. But, that may be just me.

I’ve finally read the first book in the Vampire Academy serie by Richelle Mead, and I have to say I love it. Yet a different type of vampires, and I (as usual) welcome them all. It’s a hole new univers for me (yet again…). Yes, the story have love and complications in it, but it also have a lot of friendship, and I feel that it wants to show me that friends are important and loyal, and even though you think you know your friends, sometimes they can surprise you with what they are willing to do for each other.

Christmas is basically over, but I only have two and a half days of work before I’m going to a cabin with some friends for new years eve. We’re going to go snowboarding, which is something I haven’t done in five years I think. Witch means I will end up black, blue and yellow before we go home again. I hope it’s worth it! As usual, I’m trying to save money for my house, and at the moment I’m on schedule 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2011 9:47 pm

    My, but I wish I was reading as much fiction as you! I’m afraid I somewhat forgot how to read for pleasure in college, what with all the textbooks being thrown at me. That’s a skill I need to acquire again.

    Like

    • December 28, 2011 4:20 pm

      One does not always have the time to read everything one wishes to, but one should always try!

      It’s not really about how much you read, it’s about enjoying the things you do read. And I’m sure you never lost the skill, you just didn’t have the time to use it for a while. Don’t worry, it will come back.

      Like

Leave a Reply

