Skip to content

First in 2012

January 12, 2012

I’ve already finished three books this year 🙂 Two of them are considered book for young adults (I do read quite a bit of that kind of books, they’re good :)). The first book I finished this year, was Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman. CeeCee is the main character, a young girl with a crazy mother and an absent father. The mother is lost in her own world, so much that she should have been in an institution, but since she isn’t, CeeCee takes care of them both. Since the father travels much in his work, when the mother gets hit by an ice-cream truck, CeeCee is sent away to live with an aunt she doesn’t really know. CeeCee’s story is a tragic one, or at least the beginning of it is. Because, when she goes to live with her aunt, her life (of course) gets turned around so that she now has people around that love her. It doesn’t mean that everything is a sunny summerday, because some of the people CeeCee gets to know are old, and old people die sometimes. In my opinion the book was ok, the story was told in a credible way. But I have to admit, even though I thought the book was ok, it wasn’t more either. It was a cute story, but it’s probably not a book that I will remember for a long time either.

Frostbite is the second book in the Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead, and it’s the second book I finished this year. I still like vampires (and I’m starting to belive I always will…). The main characters are mostly the same as in the first book, with the exception of the ones who died of course. And we get introduced to some new characters as well. We still see the world through the eyes of Rose, and she continues to have boy trouble (she is a teenage girl, so that is to be expected). Several deadly attacks make the world a more scary place. And when some of the students do something they shouldn’t have, Rose and Christian, a guy she doesn’t like, but are dating her best friend, try to do something about it. It’s hard to say more about this book, because if I do, I would have said too much. All I can say is that I like it, and are going to read the rest of the serie too.

Kerstin Gier is a german author I’ve just read a book by, it’s called “Rubinrot. Liebe geht durch alle Zeiten”. Since I don’t speak german, I’ve read it in norwegian. The norwegian title is “Rubinrød” (Ruby-red in english). It’s a story about love, friendship and familysecrets. The familysecret is timetraveling. The main character is Gwendolyn, all her life her cousin has been preparing for the day when the timetraveling-gene will appeare. The problem appeare when Gwendolyn starts to timetravel, after all, she has never been prepared for it, and doesn’t know what to do. It turns out the birthsertificat of Gwendolyn was forged to say her birtday was a day later that what it really was, which made everything different. I find it hard to explain the book, but I still like it. There is little love in the first book, but I can see that it’s coming, so I can’t wait to read the next book.

I’ve still got a lot a books that are waiting for me to read them. Sometimes I wish I didn’t have to work at all, that way I could just sit and read all day long. But since I also like going for walks outside, right now that’s what I’m going to do. After all, this is my day of this week, and even though there is no sun outside that I can see, it’s still daylight. It snowed the other day, so the ground is covered in it, and everything looks so nice 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

