Skip to content

Lots of work, and some reading :)

January 27, 2012

I have worked a lot the last couple of weeks (but I still have made the time to read some). Since I now have three jobs, sometimes it leaves to little time for reading. But I always have time for my friends 🙂 We had a surprise-party for my friend a couple of days after his birthday. It was a great party, I have to admit that it’s been a while since my jaws felt exhausted after laughing so much! The only thing I didn’t like so much happened when I was leaving, I could only find my left shoe… Someone had managed to take to right shoes (yes, there were alcohol at the party). But seriously, who takes two right shoes? with different sizes?? my shoe was at least a couple of sizes smaller!! so, yes, of course I was a little frustrated, I needed those shoes since I didn’t sleep in my apartment, and were going to work the next day… But, as usual, everything works out, I just needed to give it some time. We discovered who had my shoe, and I got it back = happy me again 😀 I’m not going to deny the fact that I have been drunk sometimes, but I’ve still always managed to at least take my own shoes (and not someone elses….)

I went to look at a house that was for sale yesterday. It was a really nice house with a garden and a garage (just like I want it). The asking price was more than I could afford, and when people starting to bid on the house today, the price went way over my head so to speak…. But I’m still saving, but since the price got such a raise in the bid-war, I’m starting to think I might have to save and wait another year with bying a house 😦 On the other hand, I’m not one to give up….That goes for a lot of things in life, if you give up, you’ve lost, and I don’t like losing, so I will not give up! 🙂

One of my colleages gave me a book to read the other day, it was The uncommon reader by Alan Bennett. I have to admit it was not a favorite of mine. It told the story of a queen that started to enjoy reading (a little to much according to her advisors). Sure, the story moved forward and had a sense of purpose: you can always find some time to read 🙂 That part I really liked, and I can’t say exactly why it’s not a favorite, after all, it was a very sweet book. And thinking about the queen that starts to ignore some of her duties because of her reading, did bring a smile to my face.

As usual, I’ve read some books for young adults, they are some of my favorite books at the moment. Melissa Marr has written av book with the title: Wicked lovely, it’s about faeries. A lot of books speak of faeries as beautiful, yet scary creatures, and this book is no different. The main character in the book, Aislinn can see faeries, but they don’t know it. She has been taught by her grandmother that there are some rules she should not break: don’t attract the faeries attention, don’t speak to them, and don’t stare at them. She has been keeping to these rules most of her life, but when a special faerie takes a liking to her, the rules are getting really hard to follow. This, of course, leads to drama, action, romance (not necessarily the way one would think right away) and a lot of confusion. So the verdict is: I like the book, and I’m going to read the next in the serie.

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson is a different book, it’s not all that nice, but it’s not bone-chilling either. While I read the book I wanted to help the main character, I wanted to cry with her even though she didn’t cry that much, I wanted to shake her and tell her to talk to someone, I wanted to read more and at the same time, all I really wanted was for the book to end, because I didn’t want to read it. I know, I sound very confusing, the book was not. It was… I can’t explain. I hated it because of what story it was telling, but at the same time I loved it for the exact same reason. The main character, Melinda, is an outcast when she start high school because of something that happend some time before school was to start in the fall. She called the cops at a party, but what really happend? why did she call? She wish she could explain, but she can’t find the words. The story is heartbreaking, it feels real (even though I don’t want it to be). I keep this story with me, not because I want to, but because I can’t get it out of my head. I love reading books, but that doesn’t mean I remember all of them and what they were about, this one sticks in my head. I want to read more of the author to see if she can give me the same feeling again, the feeling I’m not even really sure that I want. All I can say is: Read the book! And think about it after…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

