Skip to content

Tea-time with the girls :)

February 9, 2012

Once a month I have tea-time with some girls I know, it’s eight of us, but since several of us works different shifts, it’s hard to gather everyone at once. Today it was my turn, and it was only one girl missing (she was working…). I love these gatherings, because when we meet like this we talk about anything and everything (and there are always something good to eat). The only problem I have with these girls is that I don’t feel like I see the enough…. It seems that we all work on different schedules, and of course there are boyfriends/fiancés/husbands, kids and houses/appartments. Sometimes I wish I had all the time in the world to hang out with friends and family, and (of course) read a lot of books.

So yes, I always return to the books. This time I’ve finished the second book in the serie by Kerstin Gier, Sapphire blue (Safirblå in norwegian, and the original tittle is: Saphirblau, Liebe geht durch alle Zeiten). I liked the book, just as I did the first one in the serie. We still see the world through the eyes of 16-yearold Gwendolyn, she is starting to get more familiar with the timetravelling. But as usual in these kind of book, unexpected things happen. And when Gwendolyns mother have told her not to trust anyone or anything, not even her own feelings, we do get a clue about some of the things to come. After all, she is timetravelling with the handsome Gideon, whom she now have kissed several times and are starting to fall in love with. After finnishing the book I have some of the same feeling as I did with the first book, it’s a good book, but I know the story isn’t finished. Yes, I know, the third book has yet to come, but I did finish the second book. But I still feel like I’m in the middel of the story, so in my opinion there should be more of a closing at the end of each book. Don’t get me wrong, I like the fact that the story has some unfinished lines so there are bound to be a next book, but I didn’t feel like the book gave me and ending at all. Anyway, I guess I just have to wait for the next one to come out, so I too can get some closure on the story.

Catching fire by Suzanne Collins is the second book in the Hunger Games installment. It’s a good book, I kind of love it! It feels like the book are both character-driven and plotdriven. It’s violent and unforgiving. It paints a picture where rich people are bad and poor people are good, or, mostly so anyway. The game itself is the biggest part of the book. It shows that even you don’t always think that things you do can affect a lot of people in one way, they sometimes do. It only takes one person to start a rebellion, or a revolution. The books seemes to paint the world mostly in black and white from Katniss’ point of view, with the ocasionally grey inbetween. There has been a movie made from the first book, and it’s a movie I’m going to see. I don’t usually go to the movies, but this time I actually might.

I rented a movie from the library the other day, it was Tropa de elite, about a special force that goes into the most dangerous places in Rio de Janeiro. The movie was brutal, but I don’t mind violence in movie. The thing that I find scary about it is that in parts of the world, this is the life people live. All the drugs, the violence, the brutality, the weapons and the crimes, it’s a reality. I’ve never seen it with my own eyes, and to be honest, I hope I don’t get to. I don’t like to miss things, but that is one of the things I won’t mind missing out on. I recomend this movie to people who wants to see things about how some people live their lives. And when they do, they should remember to be happy about what they can do and what they have. They should remember to look for the beauty in life, and smile when they smell the flowers and realise they even though they sometimes complain about things, all in all life is good 🙂

At the moment I can’t smell the flowers outside, but that’s because of all the snow. But I do have flowers in my window sill. And in the evening, when it’s dark outside, I sometimes look outside to see all the white snow that covers everything, and I can’t help but smile, it looks so….. innocent 😀

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

