Skip to content

Weekend

July 15, 2012

The festival was great 🙂 The music was mostly metal, but even though I haven’t listened to a lot of it before, I liked a lot of it. I realised that I liked working as a volunteer, but I think my favourite time was when we were at the campingsite. The people there, well, lets just say, I’m looking forward to next year, I’m SO going back!

I’ve always been fasinated with history, so much has happened, but we still manage to repeat a lot of the bad stuff, not just the good… A book I just read, The lost army of Cambyses (2002) by Paul Sussmann contains a bit of history. According to the book, it’s a legend that somewhere in the Sahara desert, there is buried an army of fifty thousand men because they were surprised by a sandstorm. Tara Mullray is the daughter of an wellknown archaeologist, but when she comes to Egypt to visit him, she can’t find him at first. When she finally find him, he is dead, heartattack mayby? She runs into an old acquaintance, whom she has had a relationship with a long time ago. Together they set out to find pieces of a pussle that her father left her. The story gets dramatic because people are starting to get hurt, and some end up dead. Not everyone is who they seemed to be at first glance. The other main character in the book is a policeman named Yusuf Khalifa. He starts to investigate a murder, and find things that make him wonder about thing. In Kairo and Luxor people trade with illigal artifacts, there is basically a whole comunity that is in this business. This book is the authors debutnovel.

5 likes/dislikes:

+ the archaeology, the history, the main characters

– it was too little “old” history in the book, Sayf al-Tha’r (one of the villains)

My opinion: Everything in the story seemed to fall into the right place as the story moved forward. There were no loose threads, but the author still had me guessing a lot before he actually revealed what was going on. For me, the book was a pageturner because of the tension and the achaeology. I liked the female main character because even though she sometimes got afraid (wich would be normal for anyone that are basically hunted for killing), she didn’t back down, she stood her ground. I tend to get annoyed if a female lead character is a damsel in distress. Don’t really have a lot to say about the book, other than I liked it, and it made me want to read other books of that author.

I don’t listen to norwegian audiobooks, because they read way to slow for me. But since I read a lot slower in english, I thought mayby listening to english audiobooks could be a good idea. It was. The book I listend to was The chosen one by Carol Lynch Williams. The story is about thirtheen year old Kyra Leigh, she lives with her family in an isolated community. It’ s mostly a good life. Her father has the total of three wifes, and Kyra has about twenty brothers and sisters. Kyra is mostly a good girl, except when she goes outside the compound, to get to the Ironton County Mobile Library on Wheels where she reads forbiddens books. The books are forbidden because the Prophet has said so. Everyone listens to the Prophet, his word is law because they come from God. One day the Prophet comes to the trailer that belongs to Kyra’s family. He has had a revelation that Kyra is to be married to her sixty-year-old uncle who already has six wifes. Kyra is horrified, married? to her uncle? The story continues with how Kyra, her family and Joshua (Kyras love) deals with everything. Because Kyra reads and has a connection to the outside world, satans world, she might not be as subdued as some of the others on the compound. They have to go to the nearest city to get fabric to Kyras weddingdress. When they do, the people in the city are staring at them and whispering about them. We also hear about how some people are not good enough, and that some are chased away from the compound, and even babys getting punished for screaming.

5 likes/dislikes:

+ Kyra and her thoughts, the mobil library and it’s driver,

– the people in the city, the mothers, the community,

My opinion: I know there are communities like the one discribed in the book, but as long as everyone gets an actual choice I don’t see a big problem with it. A little problem, yes, but thats because many of those who live in those kind of communities don’t know anything else, and that worries me. My personal opinion is that marrying your own uncle is an abomination, and is not supposed to happen. I like the book, I like that it brings up things like it does. I smiled when I read about the family and their lives, a lot of it seem really nice. I liked Kyra because of how she thought (except when she thought about killing the Prophet, that was almost a little too much). I really liked the part where books and the mobile library made a difference. Since I’m a librarian, I can’t help but like when people that read and learn, and when they use the things they learn from books. (don’t get me wrong, a lot of books can, and should, be read just because they are entertaining) I think the author made a good job when portraying Kyra and her struggels.

SPOILER ALERT!

When I got to the end of the book, I wished for it to continue. I wanted to know how Kyra dealt with being outside the compound and on her own. I wanted to know what happened to her family, was there repercussions? were they serious, and how serious? What really happened to the driver of the mobile library? was he really killed? what happened to the God Squad when the police came and saved Kyra? A lot of questions still remains for me when the book is finnished, and I would wish for the author to write a book so I could get answers. Don’t really think that will happen though…

SPOILER ALERT FINNISHED

Since I liked the book, and liked listening to english audiobooks, I’m probably going to do that again. Wich is nice because the drive to work takes about half an hour one way (sometimes more if there are a lot of cars…) I’m still going to listen to the radio and music, but this will sometimes be a nice break from even that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

