Skip to content

Heroes and vampires

August 14, 2012

I’m not on vacation, but I have two weeks of from work. I’m in the second week now, and in the beginning of the first week I was wondering about what I was going to do. I am supposed to relax πŸ™‚ I realised that the last time I had two hole weeks of from work (and school), was six years ago, so I figured that I deserved this πŸ™‚ I’m getting better at doing, well, not much. I’ve been going for some walks, and today I even road my bicycle to the beach (I’m going t0 have a sore bum tomorrow…) It has been sunny for days, so of course I’m a little burned by the sun, but it’s ok, it means that it’s finally some sunny days in Norway (it’s been raining for most of the summer…) It now it’s sun, and I have time of from work, it’s amazing! πŸ™‚ When it comes to the books I’ve read lately, it’s has been fantasy mostly. So, here they are:

Todays first book is number two in the serie called Heroes of Olympus, written by Rick Riordan, the title is The son of Neptune. The main character in the book is Percy Jackson, but in this book he has lost his memory, or more precisely, his memory has been stolen. Percy is fighting his way to, well, where his instincts take him. He ends up in a camp for half-bloods. The half-bloods are kids from one roman god of Olympus and a human. Percy do remember Annabeth, he thinks, he just don’t quite know who she is. There is fighting, a quest, and lost of obstacles. New friends and enemies are, of course, always added to the mix. With this book it’s a good idea to have read the first book in the serie, because we are reminded of several things that happens there.

5 likes/dislikes:

+ roman gods, connections between roman and greek gods, the glossary in the back of the book (yes, occacionally I’m a geek :))

– a bit long (513 p.), Percy Jackson

My opinion: There were a lot of action in the book, and having three points of views made it more interesting because all stories have several sides. But I still found it a tad long, though I’m not sure if the author could have skipped any of it. I loved greek mythology when I was a kid, and this book reminds me of that. The reason I liked the glossary in the back of the book was, amongst other, that it said who were the equivalent forms of the greek and roman gods. The reason I have put Percy Jackson on the dislike side is not his fault, but he takes up so much of the story. He is the biggest hero, can’t do much wrong, always lucky, almost everyone always like him, I just wish that the other character could have some more space sometimes. But in the end, I still like the book, and I will continue to read the story when they come, I have to know what the Prophecy of Seven is all about πŸ™‚

And yes, I’m back to vampires: The dead girls’ dance by Rachel Caine. It’s the second book in the serie The Morganville vampires. Claire Danvers is still in Morganville, she and her friends are still in trouble, and things seem to go from bad to worse. In this book, so much action is packed together, so it’s hard to say just a little something about it, so I’m not going to.

5 likes/dislikes:

+ the action, Michael,

– the action, Claire Danvers, Monica

My opinion: Monica is forever the bitch, so in one way I think it’s good for her too to get scared for a short moment. Claire doesn’t seem to know how to act, she is a child. She is book-smart, but when it comes to real life, she is a bit of an idiot. She has read all the curriculum for school, and even when she is told to stay at home, she goes to school where she just sits and think about Shane, she doesn’t pay attetion, and then she runs into trouble and there isn’t anyone around to save her. I mean, she didn’t have to go to school, but she still went, and she is supposed to be smart? I like Michael, he seems like such a nice guy ( to bad he’s sort of a ghost). I like the world Caine has buildt up in the books, with a complete set of society, rules, characters and species, and yes, I am waiting for the next book in the serie (I had to be put on hold at the library, someone else was currently reading the book) πŸ™‚

Within the next couples of days I’ll say something about: Princess academy and book two and three of the Tryll-serie. Because now, I’m going to bed πŸ™‚ Good night world! *wishing for sun tomorrow too* πŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

