Skip to content

Different worlds

August 16, 2012

When I picked up the book Princess academy by Shannon Hale, I thought it would be something like a lot of girls gathering in a school to be taught how to be a princess. I was right, at least partially. The book is set in a different kind of world than our own, but we have still a lot in common. There is a kingdom, and the prince of the kingdom is at the age where it’s approriate to get married. Priest in the kingdom have been looking at omens and divined from which of the kingdoms territory his bride will come from. His bride is to come from a place called Mount Eskel. The main character, Miri, lives in that area. All the girls between the age of twelve and seventeen are gathered to go to a school, the princess academy, to be prepared in case one of them are the one the prince choose. Most of the people that lives on Mount Eskel are working with the mountain itself, and trading it for things they need when the traders come. Miri and the other girls learn a lot at the princess academy, some things they find useful and other things they don’t.

5 likes/dislikes:

+ Miri, the working songs, Britta

– the traders, Olana

My opinion: I both liked and disliked this book. I liked how the author created the working songs and how she used it to help the story along. I liked how we got to know several characters. But I also thought that the way the girls were chosen, and how the prince had to choose was very outdated. It didn’t seem like the girls had a say in the matter, and that enoyed me to no end. I liked how Miri both tried to be the good girl at times, but that she also knew how to stand up for herself and her friends. Though I also understand why some of the girls disliked her. Everyone wants to be someone sometimes, and the characters in this book was no different. It doesn’t have the most action in it, because it has a lot to do with the school, and the tutor (Olana) is not one for nonsens. To a certain degree you can dream your way into the book if you’re a girl, I mean, which girls haven’t at some point in her life dreamt about being a princess?

Amanda Hocking has written a triology about the Tryll, book two is Torn, and book three is Ascend. Wendy Everly have now accepted that she is tryll, and a princess. She finds out who her father is, and gets mad because no one told her earlier. She is still into Finn, but he keeps disappearing. When she is home with her brother, she and Finn has a falling out, and Wendy and her brothers (both the one she was replaced for and the one she feels she has had her hole life) get kidnapped. A guy named Loki helps them ascape, or, it’s more like he lets them escape  because he doesn’t do anything. There are a lot of things happening in the books, both good and bad, and we get to see how loyal some people are. We follow Wendy as she grows up real fast, just because she have to.

5 likes/dislikes:

+ Loki, Tove, magic

– Finn, the Tryll people

My opinion: I don’t usually put a lot of meening into a book, I just enjoy the story for what it is, a story. But with this book I couldn’t help myself. I feel like a lot of the book speaks about how it important to be who you are, but still be able to accept other people for who they are. No one has more value than other, we should all be equal, but we still have different qualities that sets us appart from each other. We shouldn’t flaunt or hide these differences but embrace them. And of course, you can’t help who you love, you just do. Hmm, maybe I’m reading to much into it, but thats what the books said to me at least. But, everyone is allowed to have their own opinion 🙂 I liked reading about the magic, I always do, but this magic seemed different from the magic a witch for instans would have. There were also fighting in the book, a fight between good and bad. But as the story progressed, sometimes even I was a little confused about who was the good guys and who were the bad guys. Not everything is black and white, there are a lot of shades of grey in between, and I for one found a lot of grey in these books 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

