Skip to content

Long time no see…

October 15, 2013

Since last time I wrote, I’ve read a lot of books (of course). I’ve also bought a house πŸ™‚ I’ve used a lot of time just getting all my things to my new house. And I’ve spent almost the whole summer unpacking everything. I had a lot more things than I thought! I’ve put a lot of things in the trash, but I’ve still managed to use every room in my house (and then some…). I only have two bookshelves, so they are full! It’s ok since I usually lend the books I read from the library anyway πŸ™‚ I’ve decided that I’m going to try this again, writing about the books I read, maybe it’ll work this time πŸ™‚

Feedback by Robison Wells is the sequel to the book Variant (so if you haven’t read it, I suggest you do that first..) We still follow Benson, who thought he had managed to escape from the school and find his freedom. Turned out he was wrong. When he was still at school he realised that some of the other students were some kind of robots. Outside the school he has now found a lot of the same students, the human version of them. They can’t escape the little community they have made there. Some of the not-humans at school still control them. Benson is still wondering what kind of experiment this really is. Some of the students outside have given up on getting away, but there are always someone who is fighting for their freedom, someones who won’t give up. But everything that is not autorized is dangerous, it can get one of the human students killed.

In the beginning I wasn’t sure that I even liked this book. I felt the same with Variant, I didn’t quite connect with it. I can’t put my finger on it, but it’s definitly something about it. Because as soon as I started reading and thought about putting it down to read another book, I couldn’t, I just had to keep reading. The author keeps me guessing what he’s going to do next. Maybe that’s what I liked about the book. Maybe it was that someone at least tried to do something. Maybe because there were some people that refused to let go of their freedom; they would fight for their freedom even though it might kill them (that is what I call curage!).

Never give up, never give in, if you fight for your life one day you might win.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

