Skip to content

Wolf of the Plains

November 13, 2013
tags:

I’ve always found history interesting, but I didn’t know much about Genghis Khan and Mongolia. In Conn Iggulden‘s book Wolf of the Plains, that history started. This book is the first of five in a serie that Iggulden has written about Genghis Khan. I have yet to read the other four, but I’m looking forward to it.

It tells the story of how a boy has to leave his home to go live with the families of his mother, and while he is there, his father, the chief of the tribe he belongs to are betrayed and killed. The boy, Temüdsjin, are left behind with his mother and siblings when the rest of the tribe leaves. The family are left alone with nothing that will help them survive in the cold, and most people assume that they die. They are wrong. The little family struggels, but survie despite everything that is against them. Temüdsjin gives an oat that he will revenge his father. He is strong-willed, determined and the rest of his family that is still alive support him.

It’s a character-driven, but at the same time an action-driven story. I found some of the book to be tedious, and almost a little to descriptive, but as I read on I understod why the author sometimes had to. The book needed some of the slower parts to get the story to make sense. You had to understand the way they were about family and how to different families were connected.

The author paints a picture that just about comes to life when I read it. I’ve never been to Mongolia, but I can now picture some of what it was. The nature was magnificent! The people were incredible. They were strong, brave, some of them were very hard to kill, and they all fight to stay alive despite everything that is thrown their way. I’m glad I didn’t live at that time, it all seems like a struggle. But at the same time they are connected to each other and the nature in a way that seems impossible in todays society (at least from where I’m sitting).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

