Skip to content

The house of Hades

November 23, 2013

The house of Hades is book four in the serie Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan. I love greek mythology, not that crazy about roman, but in this serie they are mixed. I liked the book, but in my opinion, it was a bit long. Don’t get me wrong, I like that the characters get the time and space to develop and grow, but almost 600 pages is a bit much. Yes, the story is getting intricat and there is a lot going on, but is all of it necessary?

When Annabeth and Percy are in Tartarus, they meet a lot of monsters, that is to be expected; and they grow as people. But did their time in Tartarus need to be explained that thorough? Not in my opinion. And the rest of the crew, we all know they are going to face countless monster, and few creatures that help them, but does everyone need to be written about that thoroughly?

I like the characters in the book, but I must admit, I’ve always had a little problem with Nico. He has infuriated me because he shies away from the rest. In this book we got an explanation for some of that behaviour. Nico’s only problem is not just that he had to venture through Tartarus alone, he’s lonely, because there is something he is not just not willing to admit to himself, he is afraid that if his secret comes out, that the others won’t accept him. Out of all the people on the quest, it is Jason that understand something, and that changes their dynamic in a way I love 🙂

So, even though I liked the book, it was a bit long, and I’ve realised that if the next one is just as long, I’m probably not going to read it. Which is kind of a bummer, because I love the stories. But since I’m a librarian, I never have the time to read everything I want to, so I need to a least try to control myself.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

