Skip to content

Eeny Meeny

May 13, 2014
tags:

It’s been a while since I’ve read a criminal novel. Eeny Meeny by M. J. Arlidge is the book I just finished. (Thankfully I finished before I was to get off the bus – because if I hadn’t, I don’t think I would have remembered to get off) If you like things neat and tidy, with as little mess as possible, this might not be the book for you.

But if you like a little mess, a good story that gives you the choice of keep reading, with a couple of scenes that at least made my flesh crawl, you might want to read this book. The story also gives some of the characters a choice: two people are put together in one small space with no way to escape, and a gun with one bullet. If you are the last standing, you get out alive… I don’t like the idea, it’s disturbing. But I like the idea, it’s a good idea that makes for a great story.

There is a very strong main character in the book, but it’s clear from the beginning that she has some serious issues. There are other characters, but most of them seem to just be there to make it more believeable. (most people don’t go around alone). There are also some flashbacks in the book. Those flashbacks made me confused in the beginning, but then I started to realise that it had to be something very significant.

The story had a very good build-up in my opinion. It didn’t go to fast, but it didn’t go to slow either. I will say one, no, two things about the ending. 1. It didn’t go as I thought it would. 2. Even though one some level I expected it, it was still very sudden 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

