Skip to content

The giver

July 28, 2014

I came by this book by chance. Sometimes I look at youtube and new trailers for movies to come out. The trailer reminded me of Divergent and other movies like it. The giver by Lois Lowry is the book I’m talking about. All I knew about the book (or should I say the movie?) was what I had seen in the trailer, and read about on imdb.com.

Now that I have read the book, I can’t help think that this is not really the same story is it? Don’t get me wrong, I’m still looking forward to seeing the movie, and I did really like the book, but they must have changed a lot. Just saying.

The book starts off with Jonas, and the start of his life. He and everyone he knows live in a world that seem very different from the one I currently live in… No colours, no real feelings, no choices. The no choices part of the book reminded me of the matched trilogy by Ally Condie. In the community where Jonas lives, everyone is assigned a path of life when they are twelve. Jonas isn’t assigned, he is selected to become the Receiver of Memory. This is a very honoured job, partly because there is only one Receiver.

In my opinion the book was a little disturbing, mainly because I don’t like to have choices taken away from me. On the other hand, these people didn’t know that their choise was taken away, so they couldn’t feel anything about it. In some ways it was a very slow book, not a lot of action, but at the same time so much was going on. I find it hard to describe correctly, I find myself missing the right words.

We might not like everything about the world today, we might not like all the feelings that comes with life in general, but to have all of that taken away? It’s hard to wrap my head around it. I can’t fully comprehend it, and I don’t want to either. Even the thought is too disturbing for me.

I’ll probably be talking about this book to several of my friends, but they may perceive it a different way than what I just did. And that’s ok because it means we all have a mind of our own, and we know how to use it. I don’t like it when everyone in society tries to push everyone to become the same, look the same, say the same, feel the same and think the same. I want to be my own person, I don’t want to be dictated. I don’t want to be like everyone else, which (in my opinion) is what Jonas in the book realises to, he is different from the rest because of what he knows.

I just found out; the book is the first in a quartet. The rest are: Gathering blue, Messenger and Son. Hmm, I guess I just got three more books to add to my growing To Be Read list…..

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2014 8:04 pm

    I was also totally shocked when I read the book and then saw the movie trailer, it doesn’t look like the same plot at all…not to mention I find this even more disturbing because Lowry has been on set approving things the whole time.
    I can see why they changed it but I still don’t agree with it.

    Like

    • July 28, 2014 8:52 pm

      I think I read somewhere that Lowry knew things would change, a lot, simply because a book and a movie are two very different media.
      I might actually agree with some changes, but the one thing I dislike is when they change the age of characters. Parts of a storyline might work well in a book, but not in a movie or in a TV-show. But why do they have to change the age on the characters?

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. The giver (movie) | This invisible girl

Leave a Reply

