Skip to content

Lola and the boy next door

August 15, 2014

There are a lot of clichés when it comes to lovestories. This book has some of them. I’m talking about Lola and the boy next door by Stephanie Perkins. Girl meets boy, falls head over heals in love, then there is drama, boy and family move away, and girl is left heartbroken. After that disaster Lola finally meets Max, sure he is a little older than her, and he is in a band, but they have a good thing going (even though her fathers don’t quite aprove of him).

So yes, some clichés, but they are sweet. And there is family that always make love harder than it should be. Sure, Lola and her family isn’t quite like most families that I know. Her mother abandoned her when she was little and her (gay) fathers are her uncle and his love. Lola loves to play dress-up; or, that’s not quite true. Lola IS dress-up. Wearing different outfits is an enormous part of who she is. I admire that. I mean, Lola is seventeen, and very confident in who she is, and who she will be. In that way she is lucky.

However she lacks a little luck when the neighbours that moved away two years ago, suddenly are back. The boy, Cricket, is the one Lola fell for. His sister Calliope don’t like Lola, and she isn’t hiding it. That makes for a harder life for Lola than what she intended.

Things I liked about the book:

  • Cricket
  • Lindsey
  • Anna and Étienne St. Clair

Things I disliked about the book:

  • sometimes a little too cliché
  • Lola (yes, I know she is growing up, but does she have to be so self-sentered?)

I think this is a book for those who want a lovestory with a little love-triangle in it. I thought is was an ok read, but I have a feeling it will slip out of my mind pretty quickly. Although I wish I had the sowing capabilities that Lola does 😉

Leave a Reply

