Skip to content

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

August 28, 2014

The book Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson serves two purposes for me 🙂 It’s one of the 1001 books and I read it for my bookcircle.

I knew the general story before I started reading it, but at the same time it was very different from what I thought it would be. The book was first published in 1886, so I assume that the way of interpreting it has changed.

To me, the book showed different sides to a person. Yes, in the book Dr. Jekyll needs to drink something in the beginning to turn into Mr. Hyde, but at the end, Mr. Hyde takes over without the drink. I mostly count this as schizophrenia, the “normal” side with both good and bad, and the “bad” side with only the bad. In this case the two personalities are aware of each other. Dr. Jekyll however seems to be so subdued when Mr. Hyde are in charge that even though he does bad things, he doesn’t want to take responsibility for it.

I like how different the personalities of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde was. It seems like the author underlined it by showing that their apparences changed too, which becomes very clear at the end of the book. I like the story, I like the psychology behind it, but I found the story itself a little boring (I blame it on the fact that it is old…).

We have not yet discussed this book in my bookcircle, so I might update this post when we have. Or mayby not.

A very short update after the bookcircle (we are only girls, no boys): it was agreed that it was a good book. The discussion with good vs bad and a lot of moral in the story was discussed. The good vs bad got particularly interesting because we used things we had done ourself or had seen others do, the make things clearer both for ourselves and the others. I’d say it’s a good book to discuss 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

