Skip to content

The giver (movie)

November 23, 2014

It has been a while since I read the book The giver by Lois Lowry (I wrote about it here), but now I’ve finally seen the movie πŸ™‚ I’ll admit I don’t remember the whole story of the book. Mayby that’s why I find I liked the movie a lot. I am a little dissapointed that they changed the age of the young characters, but on the other hand I understand it.

I like that it was slow, not a lot of action. I liked how it showed how willing everyone in the society was to just accept what was happening. To just accept everything because their feelings… well, that would be wrong to say wouldn’t it, after all, there were no feelings, or at least, no emotions. I find it hard to tear those two things apart. I never want to live in a place like that.


When people have the freedom to choose, they choose wrong. Every single time.


Above is a line from the movie that I’ve occasionally thought about. It saddens me, and it scares me a bit. Probably because I can’t help but think there are people out there, somewhere in the world, that believes those words. That people should not have the freedom to choose.

I don’t wan’t to be a mindless someone. I want to have my own opinions, and be allowed to express them, and my emotions. At the same time, not everything needs to be said out loud to everyone. People should be respectful to other, value their opinion, be polite, not be racist, sometimes agree to disagree and be kind to each other. Stand up for what you believe in, but don’t push your ideas on others unless they let you. Turn the other cheek, but don’t let yourself get beaten up. Do to others as you would have them do to you. Be afraid of dangerous people, but not the unknown. The unknown are usually just scary as long as we let it, after that, it’s either good or dangerous…

Smile to the world, and the chances are, you’ll get a smile back πŸ™‚

 

Note: a lot of rambling in the end here, but hey, that’s just a part of me πŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

