Skip to content

Weird things customers say in bookshops

November 27, 2014

I read a book in the sixties. I don’t remember the author, or the title. But it was green, and it made me laugh. Do you know which one I mean?


This is the first quote in the book Weird things customers say in bookshops (2012) by Jen Campbell. Sure, the book is about things that have been said in bookshops, but I work in a library, and it seems that some things are very similar. This book made me laugh out loud many, many times. Probably because it was so much that I could recognise. Remembering the color of a book is apparently easy, but most of the other things, well, not so much. I don’t know how many times I’ve been asked someting like this: Last time I was here, I borrowed a book, one of you had to get it from the basement (where we put old books we intend to keep but don’t really have room for); tt was blue. I then ask them how long ago it was, and if they remember anything else. They don’t usually remember anything else; and sometimes they say; well, it was probably twenty years ago or so…

I loved this book, and can’t help but think that it has to be a book like that about what the users of libraries say too. I’m quite sure librarians would have had (too) many stories to tell. The book was a quick read, but it won’t stick to long in my head. (that might have something to do with where I work; I fell like I’m living parts of that book sometimes…) So: read, laugh, (possibly be embarrassed) and tell your friends so they can enjoy it too 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 28, 2014 3:31 am

    This sounds hilarious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

