Skip to content

The blood of Olympus

November 28, 2014

The blood of Olympus is the fifth book in the serie Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan. The serie is about the roman and the greek gods, and the fact that even though they are different, they are the same. They have different names in the two mythologies, but they are still the same. They are just focused at different qualities whitin the goods.

I really like this serie because I know a bit about greek mythology. When I was a kid, I was obsessed with it for a long time. The interesting part about this book (and the serie) is that it show us that it’s the same gods but with different features.

The heroes goes through a lot. After all, they are heroes, and heroes are always tested by the gods. In this book they are also tested by mother earth herself, the mighty Gaia. It’s a battle for the world, who will win?


Seven half-bloods shall answer the call

To storm or fire the world must fall

An oath to keep with a final breath

And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death


The prophecy is, as prophecies are supposed to, difficult to understand. It’s hard to decipher what it really means. It took me a while to read this book, not because I didn’t like it (because I did), but because sometimes in life, reading isn’t all I have to do… Besides, 500 pages makes for a thick book that takes a long time to read anyway πŸ™‚

One more thing I like with these books, they get people to read! I work in a library, and to see people being exited when they hear that we actually have to book on the shelf, puts a smile on my face. (Although, I will admit, usually they are lend out, so they have to be wait-listed…)

The last thing I’ll mention; how they all seem to find friends and make a new kind of family as they go along. How people manage to get along even though big parts of their society tells them they are supposed to be enemies. The bonds of friendship and self-made families are strong, and they prove that again and again. You choose your friends, and these people seem to be quite capable of choosing wisely πŸ™‚

At the end of this book, I saw that I’ll have to add a new book to my To-Be-Read-list… A new book with the title: “Magnus Chase and the gods of Asgard: The sword of summer” is coming in the autumn of 2015, I can’t wait πŸ™‚ (partly because Asgard is a part of the norse mythology, and since I’m norwegian I do know a little bit about it…)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

