Skip to content

Since you’ve been gone

December 12, 2014

Since you’ve been gone is written by Mary Jennifer Payne.

Source: I received this eARC from the publisher through NetGalley.

Publisher: Dundurn

Publication date: january 24th, 2015

I ask for an ARC of this book because I thought it sounded interesting. I’m glad I did. I absolutely loved the first sentence in the book! It made me qurious, a little bit of WTF? and it made me smile, all at once. In other words, it was a brilliant start in my opinion.

I liked the rest of the book too 🙂 Yes, I could guess some of the story, but that was ok because it was well written. I liked Edie, the main character. It was very evident that something had happened to her and her mother. That something had made them move a lot, and it made Edie more grown up than what she was supposed to be. Sometimes kids are made to grown up fast because of things that happens. Just like Edie. She and her mother are on the run from her father. I guess right away that he had done something, but I couldn’t guess what it was.

I liked how the author made Edie afraid to trust other people, even if she and her mother had fled to another country, even the police. Even though things can look perfect from the outside, doesn’t mean that it’s perfect on the inside.

Sometimes at work I wish I had a book-reading group for teens (not quite sure how I would get teens, any suggestions would be helpful). I’m saying that because I think this book could be a good one for discussion. Discussions about trust, about abuse, about life and the importance of having someone in your life that you can trust.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

