Skip to content

The In Between

December 23, 2014

The in between is written by Olivia Pierce.

Source: I received this eARC from the publisher through NetGalley.

Publisher: Full Fathom Five

Publication date: november 12th, 2014

This book is about Tara and Justin. They both have their own voice, as in, they alternate chapters, så we get both sides of the story. I like Tara, Gabby (Tara’s best friend), Justin and Luke (Justin’s best friend). I think Amanda is a total bitch. The story itselft was a good one. Right away I will complain a bit about the characters being a little it one-dimensional. I wish the characters where developed better, to me they seemed a little flat. Hmm, I’m not good at explaining what I mean here 😦

I liked the story 🙂 I liked how one day something happens that turn their world upside-down. Taras struggle when Justin is no longer, how her love is devastating. I loved Luke for being there for Tara, but at the same time I felt sorry for him since it was clear that he wanted Tara to. Though why he hadn’t acted on that feeling before…well, sometimes you just have to go for what you want, before it’s to late. Amanda was the ultimate queen-bitch of the school (apparently all schools have them).

Some of Justins time in the in between got a little to much for me. Not that it was dangerous or difficult, but more like it was described to death (worst pun ever!). Sometimes I want to imagening some thing for myself. Don’t get me wrong, when new places are introduced (like the in between), I do like that the place is described so I can picture it. But please don’t overdo it. Yes, I get that you forget things in the in between, but that doesn’t mean that you have to repeat it many times.

Wow, I feel like I’m bashing this book, I don’t mean to. I loved the premise of the story, and it was good (I just think it should have been polished a bit more)

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

