Skip to content

Fire

January 4, 2015

Fire by Kristin Cashore is the first book I finished in 2015! This is the second book in the Graceling Realm serie. It was a very good book to start the new year with 🙂

Fire is the name of the main character. A part of me expected something similar to Katsa (the first book in the serie), but I knew it would be different. It’s the same universe, but it’s different. Fire is the last human monster. She is beautiful and can control peoples minds (and animals – except the monsteranimals). She is scared of her power because of her father. Her father was someone that liked to have control over everyone, and he wasn’t afraid to hurt people. Fire is scared of who she is, she don’t want to control people, she was taught by a man who saw goodness in her. When she is taken to court where she is told that she could help the kingdom by controlling peoples thoughts as a way of finding enemies of the king, she is hesitant.

Fire wants to help people, but she doesn’t want to become the monster her father was. Both causes are noble and understandable.

I liked Fire. Sure, she was scared to be herself, but I think that was mostly because it could easily get her killed. Her friend, Archer however, I can’t help it, he and some of his actions didn’t sit right with me. On the negative side: I think the author was a little to free with all the casual sex, considering how young some of the character are. Another thing, the court, and explaning how everything is there; sure important, but not that interesting. I loved Hanna! (how could I not?) I wish I could have gotten to know both her and Queen Roen a little better. So, I’m not as in love with this book as I was the first book in the serie, but I still like it. The story was, in my opinion, a good one.

All in all, I liked the book, and I want to read the next book in the serie (Bitterblue).

Leave a Reply

