Skip to content

Bookshelves…

January 8, 2015

I only have three and a half bookshelves. (the half one isn’t really a bookshelf, I just use it as one) It’s one of the reasons I borrow a lot of book from the library. There simply isn’t enough room. And even though I’m a librarian, my shelves are not structured. Which makes it impossible to find anything. Sometimes I see books on my shelves that I’ve been waiting on from the library… So I need to do something about it.

I want to re-arrange my bookshelves, but I’m not sure how I want to do it (which is why I’m rambling on my blog; it helps my thinking sometimes šŸ™‚ Two of the shelves are in my livingroom, the third is in a hallway on the second floor and the half shelf is in an extra bedroom.

To question now is: how do I decide which books go where? I’ve got classics that I’ve read, some that I want to read, and some that I just had to have (without having read, or even planning to read them). I got books from promotional tours from the publishers. I started to get those books after I started to work as a librarian. It’s one of the (few) perks; every spring and autumn the publishers tour most of Norway to talk about their new books to bookseller and some librarians. I always try to go to as many of those as I can, because I love hearing about the new books coming out. As an added bonus we usually also get some of the books šŸ™‚ Some of these books I’ve read, some I want to read, and some I don’t want to read.

Of course, I also have some of my old schoolbooks (from when I studied library- and informations-science; and spanish); I want to keep those books. But at the same time, I know I wont look at them much (if any at all)…

Do I put all the books I don’t think I will read upstairs? And keep the ones I love, like and want to read in my livingroom? Am I to be very much a librarian and put my books alphabetical? Or do I divid my books according to what I have read, and what I want to read?

Yes, the booknerd in me is coming out… I might need some help and suggestions here… šŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

