Skip to content

Imitation

January 27, 2015

Imitation is written by Heather Hildenbrand.

Source: I recieved this eARC from the publisher through NetGalley.

Publisher: Mark My Words Book Publicity

Publication date: july 17th, 2014


Summary from Netgalley:

Everyone is exactly like me. There is no one like me.

Ven wrestles with these contradicting truths every day. A clone of wealthy eighteen-year-old Raven Rogen, Ven knows everything about the girl she was created to serve: the clothes she wears, the boys she loves, the friends she loves to hate. Yet she’s never met the Authentic Raven face-to-face. Imitations like Ven only get to leave the lab when they’re needed—to replace a dead Authentic, donate an organ, or complete a specific mission. And Raven has never needed Ven . . . until now.

When there is an attack on Raven’s life, Ven is thrust into the real world, posing as Raven to draw-out the people who tried to harm her. But as Ven dives deeper into Raven’s world, she begins to question everything she was ever told. She exists for Raven, but is she prepared to sacrifice herself for a girl she’s never met?


This is the first book in the Clone chronicles, the next book is called Deviation.

I finally finished this book, not because it was bad, but because my computer died and I had to buy a new one before I could get on with reading my e-galleys…

I liked Ven (the main character), and I liked how she mess up and got frustrated, but still wanted to take care of friends and not mess up. She had a hard time being Raven Rogen, because even though time in Twig City were to prepare her for life as Raven, they left a lot of her life out. It’s clear from the beginning that the version of events Ven is show is quite different from the life Raven lives lived. I also mostly liked Link, but at times I’m uncertain if Ven should trust him that much.

Yes, I know this is Ven’s story, but I can’t help but wonder about Raven. Where is she when Ven is her? Some people notices differences between Raven before and after, why doesn’t anyone call her out on it? Yes, I know it’s Ven’s job, but still, she isn’t drasticly changed, she just seem to space out and be a little weird compared to what she was before.

All in all, I liked the book 🙂 and I would like to read the next book in the serie!

Leave a Reply

