Skip to content

Wuthering Heights

February 2, 2015

I don’t always choose the books I read, this time it was Wuthring heights by Emily Brontë. The reason I read this book was because of my bookclub. Unfortunately I didn’t get to go to the meeting because I’ve been at home, under a blanket, drinking hot tea… I wish I had been at that meet, maybe I would have liked the book better after discussing it…

Wuthering heights is a classic. Classics are not always my favourite books, and this was no exception. Mr. Lockwood is in some ways the main character. We hear the story from his perspective, when one of the servants of the house tells him the story of Mr. Heathcliff, the owner of the house. The servant, often referred to as Nelly, has been there to see it all. There is no love lost between her and Mr. Heathcliff. I found Mr. Heathcliff to be a vile person. But so were most of the other people in the book too. Yes, I know the book is set in a very different time than what we live in now, but still… I didn’t like the characters, I didn’t like the way the acted most of the time, or how the spoke to each other. Don’t get me wrong, in many ways it’s a timeless story, so I understand that it is a classic. That doesn’t mean however that I have to like it. Because I didn’t. I found it boring. Sure, now I can say that I’ve read that classic, but that’s the only good thing I can say about it at the moment.

As I said, that would probably be different it I had gone to bookclub and talked about the book. I can’t help it, I find that most book get better after you’ve talked about them. Not quite sure why, but it might have something to do with the fact that the knowledge and understanding of the book gets better.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

