Skip to content

The Duff

February 10, 2015

When I first heard of this book, I wanted to read it. The duff (designated ugly fat friend) by Kody Keplinger is a fast, but very entertaining read. I wanted to read it before the movie comes out. Yes, a movie is made based on this book. I’ve seen the movietrailer, and I like it (even though it seems to have changed quite a bit).

Bianca is the main character. I like her because she isn’t perfect. She is moody, not the most popular girl, but she isn’t a complete outcast either. She isn’t the most picture perfect girl, but she doesn’t make excuses for being who she is. She refuses to change for anyone. She is insecure, but in some ways she is very secure (although she doesn’t always realise it). She has friends she loves, and that loves her back. Her friends don’t cut her to much slack, but they are always there for each other.

In a lot of books I’ve read lately, the main girl have either had some almost magical about her that makes her close to perfect, either the way she looks or how she acts. Or the main girl is the outcast in the beginning and when something changes, she becomes what most people want to be. Don’t get me wrong, I love reading stories like that to, but in so many ways this book felt way more realistic.

There was one thing I didn’t like that much about this book. Sure they are teenagers, but do they all really just jump in bed with each other that quickly? Is sex that casually for almost all of them?

Apart from that thing, I really liked this book 🙂 I want to watch the movie, and I want to read the rest of Keplingers books. Because the author has written more books 🙂

This is one of the books I bought a couple of weeks ago, and I’m not sorry. I’m going to look at this book when it’s on my shelf, and then I will smile (and probably wonder whos Duff I am…).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2015 11:15 pm

    I literally need this book and even more now that they’re making it a movie!

    Like

    • February 20, 2015 11:44 pm

      Buy it (or borrow it at the library)! I want to read Keplingers other books too… (and see the movie obviously)

      Liked by 1 person

      • February 20, 2015 11:46 pm

        I’m broke right now and I can’t borrow from the library *cries* but I will buy it soon! Haha

        Like

Leave a Reply

