Skip to content

The selection

February 19, 2015

I’ve heard this book mentioned several times, but haven’t gotten around to reading until now. I’m talking about The selection by Kiera Cass. From the reviews I’ve seen on Goodreads, a lot of people didn’t like it that much, but the rating is at 4.15, so I’m not quite sure what to believe…

Personally, I liked most of the book. Sure, the main character America Singer, isn’t always my favourite person, but still. Aspen, her boyfriend, well, let’s just say that I didn’t really agree with his behaviour. The only time I agreed with him was when he made America promise to enter the selection. America was a little to whiny for my tast, she got picked but wanted out. Well, couldn’t she just tell the prince and then she would be out if she thought it was that horrible? But no, she had to stay in the competition at least for a while to get money for her family. The money that wasn’t important at all when she was talking about her boyfriend Aspen, and the fact that if she did end up marrying him, they would all have even less money… Sorry, but I just can’t understand that logic (maybe because it seems to be missing?)

In addition, I would have wanted to get to know the other girls of the selection better. Not just a couple of the names, and one or two characteristics of each, but to see the other girls as more than one-dimensionals.

Hmm, when I write about the book now, maybe I didn’t like it as much as I thought I did? I didn’t really like Aspen, America annoyed me a lot, but Maxon was fairly ok. Although, I didn’t quite believe that he have been that locked away from the world, in my opinion that was a little unrealistic. There was one thing I enjoyed, the world. I want to see more of the world in this book. Well, maybe I will get more of that in the next book in the serie… Seeing I will probably read it…

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2015 8:04 am

    I’m currently reading the book right now. So far, I’m liking it, but I looked at the reviews for the second one—-it wasn’t pleasant. I hope it doesn’t disappoint.

    Like

    • February 20, 2015 7:03 pm

      Agree, it’s so easy for the second book to disappoint. I’ve read the first, and sometimes the second book in so many series, but never finished them…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. February 20, 2015 11:15 pm

    This book is on my TBR pile and I can’t wait to get to it! Loved the review!

    Like

    • February 20, 2015 11:41 pm

      Thank you 🙂 I’m getting my hands on the next book (The Elite) next month, very curious to see what I think of that one, since this one left me a little conflicted. I’d love to hear your thoughts when you’ve read it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

