Skip to content

Never let me go

February 28, 2015

Never let me go is written by Kazuo Ishiguro. I just finished the book, but I’m not quite sure what to think about it. It certainly wasn’t what I expected. The blurb at the back of the book says: “A story of love, friendship and memory, Never let me go is charged throughout with a sense of the fragility of life”. While all that is true, something more is added.

I’m not quite sure how to explain this book, or what to think of it. Even though I found the book interesting, I also thought it was kind of boring. The donor-part of the book left me with a feeling of WHAT? How can that, in any way, be acceptable? How come noone shut those programs down? How can people allow that to go on? Can’t they find a better way to do that?

What makes you human? Someone made these donors, how can they say they are not human? I would find it disturbing to live in a world where this was the norm, I think, unless I had been brainwashed…

Well, this was a lot of just rambling on my part. The book confused me, and it wasn’t a book I would have chosen for myself. Except I did, with my own challenge… The story of friendship in the book was a good one though.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

