Skip to content

Mind games

March 10, 2015

Mind games is written by Teri Terry.

Source: I recieved this eARC from the publisher through NetGalley.

Publisher: Orchard books

Publication date: march 5th, 2015


Summary from NetGalley:

In a future world, life is tightly controlled by the all-powerful PareCo. Standing out from the crowd is dangerous so misfit Luna hides her secrets carefully, not realising her own power. Unlike her friends and family, Luna has never been able to plug into Realtime, PareCo’s virtual world, where almost everyone now lives their lives. So how do PareCo know about Luna, and why do they want her for their elite think tank?

The truth is hidden in a web of shining silver secrets, and the corrupt authorities would do anything to keep it that way. Can Luna find a way to use her own hidden powers and bring the truth to light before it’s too late?


It took me a while to get into this book, but that is most likely explained by having to read it on my computer (I prefer physical books). I meant to finish the book and publish the review on the publishing date, but a little bit of life happend, so the review didn’t. But it’s here now 🙂

I didn’t find it hard to get into the story itself, maybe because I like games (and could probably get addicted very easily), or because I found it interesting. I liked Luna, but I was dissapointed in her dad. I was also dissapointed in the world people in the world, and how easily they accepted everything with PareCo. But then I thought, this is a thing that most likely happend little by little. When things just change a little bit a the time, most people won’t complain, some might not even notice it. Isn’t that how societies changes?

Not all changes are good though, and this book shows that not all virtual experiences are good. Sure, they can all be a lot of fun, but it’s always a lot of fun until someone gets hurt…

I loved the world-building in this book. I could picture it (at least most of it; I’ve never tried that kind of virtual games/worlds). Even though a lot of the world seemed unreal, there were still something real about it. Luna had both good and bad sides, same with Gecko. It wasn’t to many characters, I could easily remember who was who (I’m sometimes bad with names, so if it’s to many it tends to annoy me). Sure, some of the characters seemed a little one-dimensional, but that was probably because that’s how Luna saw them; and that makes sense.

All in all: I really liked the book.


 

Note on the ENDING OF THE BOOK:

I will say one thing about the ending of the book; or the book itself; I wouldn’t mind if it were the start of a serie. I think this book could work as a serie, but it doesn’t have to. Hmm, I never thought I would almost ask for a sequel when there doesn’t need to be one…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

