Skip to content

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour bookstore

March 22, 2015
tags: ,

I’ve realised that I like books that centers around books and bookstores (or libraries, that totally works to). The book I just finished, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour bookstore written by Robin Sloan, contains all I just mentioned. As the title says, it’s a bookstore. It’s run by Mr. Penumbra. The main character is Clay Jannon.

The story starts when Clay walk into Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour bookstore, and Penumbra himself asks Clay: “What do you seek in these shelves?“.

The synopsis at the back of the book left me intrigued, but I wasn’t quite prepared for the content. I can’t really do a quick retelling of the book, nor do I want to write out the synopsis. What you need to know is that Clay used to work with web-design, there is something weird with the bookstore (especially the waybackshelves where certain people just borrow the books).

It’s a mystery about books, Mr. Penumbra and the waybackshelves. I’ve written down several quotations from the book. Yes, I really liked this book with it’s content and story, but I also really liked the way it was written. Usually I don’t think to much about that as long as I get the story. The only thing I didn’t love, was the epilogue. In my opinion it didn’t need to be there, and I kind of wish that I hadn’t read it.

This book made me smile, and I will tell people I know to read this book. It simply just made me happy, and I want to read more books like this!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

