Skip to content

Defy

March 24, 2015
tags:

Defy is the first book in a serie by Sara B. Larson.

What used to be a happy family with mother, father and two children is no more. The parents have been murdered, and Marcel cuts of Alexa’s hair so they can pretend they are brothers. They are both good fighter, and after having lied about their age, they become part of prince Damians guard. Alexa calls herself Alex, and nobody but her brother knows she is a girl. A lot of things happen, and prince Damian, Alex and her fellow guard and friend Rylan are abducted.

I liked seeing Alex grow as a person, but she wouldn’t have been able to do that if she didn’t have others in her life that cared. Her brother Marcel is the most important person in Alex’s life. Her friend Rylan might be the second most important person. Prince Damian seems, at least to Alex in the beginning, like a spoiled brat. Things changed between all these people, some for the better and some for the worse.

I’ve seen some reveiws about this book where several persons mentiones a love-triangle, and how they dislike it. To me it didn’t feel that much like a love-triangle. It felt more like growing up, and starting to realise who you are (at least for some of them). There are plenty of things I would want to say about this book, but I don’t want to risk spoiling to much of it. If you like fantasy, a girl as the main character, and don’t need full worldbuilding right away, I recomend this book.

I really enjoyed this book, and I will buy the next book in the serie: Ignite, but since I have Defy in paperback, I will have to wait (I want them to match). No, I don’t like waiting for the next book in the serie, but since there are so many other books I want to read, I guess I’ll manage… (Besides, the third book in the serie have expected publishing in 2016!) In other words, I’m going to need to be patient anyway… I want Ignite in paperback now! šŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

