Skip to content

The hat shop on the corner

May 16, 2015

The hat shop on the corner

The hat shop on the corner is written by Marita Conlon-McKenna. I read this book because a colleague at work recomended it to me, she really liked it (and occasionally I like to read something other than YA books). I get why she liked it; it was a cute, fun and fast read. It’s almost 400 pages, but I read it in less than a day.

The main character Ellie has just lost her mother when we meet her, and she inherits her mothers hat shop. A hat shop that has many memories for Ellie because she basically grew up there. Then there are these big bad developers that want to buy the property and change the whole street where the shop is. There is also a love-story in the mix, but not everything is always what it seems.

The book is set in Dublin, and it sounds like a lovely city. We are taken on some small tours of the city, and we get to meet the other people on the street where the hat shop is.

There is a lot in this book about making hats, a lot of styles and colours are mentioned. That part of the book was not my favorite part, because I’ve never worn a hat in my life. It does sound fun and extravagant though ๐Ÿ™‚

To me this book was to not settle with what sounds like a good idea right away, but take the time to think about things, both in personal life and work life; where do you want to be and what do you really want to do? It’s about standing up for yourself, and for others when it’s needed. It’s about letting friends help you, be respectful to other people, and be kind. At least that is what I’m taking from this book. The book put a smile on my face ๐Ÿ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

