Skip to content

Elizabeth is missing

May 20, 2015

Elizabeth is missing

Title: Elizabeth is missing

Author: Emma Healey

Pages: 274 pages

Source: borrowed at the library

This was an interesting book. I think I liked it, but it’s hard to tell. It’s all jumbled together. The main character Maud is very forgetful. She keeps remembering that her friend Elizabeth is missing, and she constantly asks about her. Mauds sister dissapeared when she was young, never to be found. Vanished into thin air. Where did she go? Helen, Mauds daughter, has a hard time trying to take care of Maud.

We meet Maud when she remembers who she is, and where she is. We also meet Maud when she’s thinking about her sister, her sisters husband and her familys lodger. There is something that doesn’t add up.

The book confused me so much at times, but at the same time it was mostly logical. We were following Mauds thoughts, and since she is very forgetful, everything gets mixed up all the time. It was definitively fasinating trying to follow her thoughts, but very hard. Is that how it is to have alzheimers? If so, a part of me get why they sometime get mad, it must be extremely frustrating. Thinking you know and remember something, and then have someone tell you to do something and you don’t know how to.

My thoughts on this book are all jumbled together and doesn’t make a lot of sense, but I think in a way they still do, just like the book. It’s confusing, but in a weird way it all connectes very well when you read it.

What I liked about the book:

  • Maud, and how she never gave up on Elizabeth
  • the writing; how the author managed to make the book cryptic and confusing and still make sense at the same time.
  • Mauds granddaughter Katy

What I didn’t like about the book:

  • the confusion I felt when reading a lot of it.
  • how most people around Maud just brushed her off because she didn’t remember much.

There is another thing that makes me unsure wether I liked the book or not, parts of if reminds me of my own grandmother. Not the mystery part, but the forgetting things hit a little to close to home for me. My grandmother, even though she recognise me (at least for now), are getting very forgetful. She doesn’t remember when we’ve visited. She doesn’t remember telling us things, and sometimes she gets mad because she doesn’t remember things. Which is understandable, because after reading this book, I imagine gaining at least some insight as to how her brain seem to work sometimes. It’s both scary and sad. But those moments when she does remember, and we talk to her like we always did, it’s the best feeling in the world 🙂

That is why I both like and dislike the book. The mystery is great; seeing how that brain of Maud works is incredible, but at times sad (both for Maud and those around her). Hm, I think I’ll leave it at that, and let other people make up their own mind about the book. I’ll still recomend it, because it is an entertaining story and written very well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

