Skip to content

Grave mercy

June 30, 2015

Grave mercy

Title: Grave mercy (His fair assassin #1)

Author: Robin LaFevers

Source: bought

Book in five words: trust, deceiving, poison, convent, friendships.

Synopsis:

Young, beautiful and deadly. Trained as an assassin by the god of death, Ismae is sent to the court of Brittany, where she finds herself underprepared – not only for the games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart? A dangerous romance full of intrigue, poison and ultimately finding one’s way.

This is the first book I finished after Tease by Amanda Maciel; I don’t usually get bookhangovers, so thankfully this book got me out of it againg 🙂

Ismae is a strong maincharacter. She mostly has both head and heart in the right place. That doesn’t mean she’s flawless, but it does make her a believeable character. That goes for almost all the characters in this book, they are believeable (at least in my opinion). I liked how we got little bits and pieces of information, with sometimes an explanation if it was needed. So many authors don’t know when to stop explaning things, but LaFevers does, and for that I’m grateful 🙂

I think it was good that when the story was moving along, that Ismae started to think for herself, and not just accept everything that was told her. There were things I wished she had understood earlier, but at the same time feelings and what other people say and think influences so much of what we do and say, so to me it was understandable. Familiarity clouds peoples judgement of people they have know for either a long time, or sometimes if they are in important positions of power. Power is knowledge, but power could also easily go to someones head. How well do you truly know someone, and how could you guess their motives for doing what they are doing?

Even though is was a thick book (almost 500 pages), it was a quick read. It was never a boring moment, so I couldn’t put it down. I have to mention the romance in the book, there was no love-triangle 🙂 There was however a slowburning romance that was just about perfect in my opinion. It was so slow and hesitant, that sometimes it didn’t even seem to excist. Which to some people might sound weird, but in my opnion fitted just right in the book, and with the people.

This is the first book in the serie His fair assassin; Dark triumph is the second and Mortal heart is the third. I guess I have to buy those books to now, because I want to read them; I hope they are as good as this one 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

