Skip to content

The good lie

July 3, 2015

Title: The good lie

It’s a movie! And yes, Reese Witherspoon stars in it, but she is not the main character.

The good lie

Lately I’ve wanted to see more movies, there are so many good movies, and the library I work at buys quite a few of them. This movie was one that several people had placed a hold on, so I got curious and read the synopsis. I was intrigued by the synopsis, so I borrowed the movie. I’m glad I did.

Sure, the start of the movie was a bit long, and it wasn’t as I thought, but it was a greate movie. It’s 1 hour 45 minutes long, but it felt a lot shorter because it was so good. I will admit that I did want more of the refugees in the US, but at the same time, their story was so compelling I’m happy that it was just the way it was. The movie was beautiful, and I recommend it very much!

For a while, we had a group of female refugees coming to the library I work every thursday for two hours to speak norwegian. This was an angreement their school and the library had. Sometimes things change, and their schoolsituation have changed, and that meant they aren’t coming to the library the same way anymore. I miss them, I miss talking to them, and I miss learning about their culture. I learned so much from them (and I’m hoping they learned something from me too). Most of these ladies had been through many difficult situations. Some where willing to share their stories; about their life, why they became refugees, and their journey to Norway. I remember sometimes shaking my head in disbelief because of what they told us. They  said they just did what they had to do to survive… I remember thinking; I would never have been able to do what they did. These were amazing women with incredible stories, and they could still smile and tell jokes.

This movie reminded me of the refugees from work, about thinking I’m lucky that I’m born in Norway. It reminded me of one of the ladies that never went to school before she came to Norway. She couldn’t read or write in her own language, but she was slowly learning to read and write norwegian. I remember seeing her smile when she managed to read words out loud by herself; that was an incredible amazing smile.

I guess what I’m trying to say; don’t turn away from people you don’t know just becaue you’ve made an assumption about them because of where they come from. Everyone is different, and have different experiences. Learn about other cultures, and help refugees learn about the culture in the contry they have come to. Teach them, help them and most importantly; be kind 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) permalink
    July 4, 2015 4:35 pm

    You had me curious at Reece Witherspoon. I loved her older movies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

