Skip to content

Discussion: reviews, sequels and spoilers

August 16, 2015

I don’t do a lot of discussion-posts, but spoilers in reviews, and for sequels of books have been on my mind lately…

I do like reading other peoples reviews, it gives me an impression about the book. Sometimes I’ve heard of the book earlier, other times not. I like knowing about the plot and the characters. But: I don’t like spoilers. I think that goes for a lot of people. Spoilers are in general a big no, no. I don’t want to accidently spoil someone else on a book I’ve read and am writing about either, but sometimes it’s hard. I get it. Sometimes I even feel that the synopsis on the back of the book kind of spoils it a little too. In my opinion the synopsis of the book should only consist of events from the first third of the book, preferably less. Though, a couple of times lately I’ve read books where the synopsis mentions things that happens in the last half of the book 😦 I feel like I’m waiting for things to happen because it has been mentioned in the synopsis, and when it finally happens, it’s in the last part of the book and I kind of feel cheated.

The same problem occur when writing a review for a sequel to a book. I don’t want to accedently spoil people on the first book(s) in the serie, but sometimes it can’t be helped. That is in many ways a better way to spoil people. Because sometimes events of the first(s) book in the serie have to be mentioned if the review of the sequels are to make sense.

I’ve been spoil on some books in reviews because they are sequels and sometimes it seems that people forget to mention that it is a sequels. I’m sure I’ve done the same mistake many times, but I’m trying to be better. In my reviews I write the title and the author first in the blogpost. That is also were i write if it’s a sequel.

As I said in the beginning, I love reading reviews and see what other people think of the book that I’ve read, maybe it will help give me a better understanding of the books. When I read reviews of book I’ve read I always check out the comments (if there are any) and read them too. Many times people have seen other things than I have in a book and I love that! 🙂 I will admit this is why I usually read reviews for book after I’ve read the books myself, I don’t want to be accendently spoil.

What are your thoughts on reviews of sequels? And what about spoilers in general in reviews? (and in the comment-section…)

If you’ve read any of my reviews, do you think I’m doing what I’m sometimes accusing other people for? Am I spoiling books in my reviews? (I try not to, but what people consider to be a spoiler is different sometimes…)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

