Skip to content

The fifth gospel

August 25, 2015

The fifth gospel

Title: The fifth gospel

Author: Ian Caldwell

Source: library


A lost gospel, a relic, and a dying pope’s final wish send two brothers – both Vatican priests – on a quest to untangle Christianity’s biggest mystery.


Not quite sure what to say about this book; I liked the mystery. I’m not a christian, so the two different christianities confused me. I did understand that there were some differences, but aren’t they both about kindness and forgiveness? Some of the differences where explained, but I did use a long time reading this book, so I don’t remember it all.

I understand that the four gospels are different, and John is more theological than the other three. Does the Diatessaron exist? Is there really a fifth gospel? I do have some questions, and I do like books that make me curious. I like learning about different religions. I find it fasinating that so many people it this world believe in something they can’t see. In some ways I envy the ones that have faith, they believe in something bigger than themselves, and I think that is a great thing. The shroud, is it real? Yes, I know I could probably just google a lot of it to try to find a lot of the questions, but at the moment, I’m not going to. (feel free to answer my questions if you want to) Mostly, the differences between the priest and bishops and other was interesting, but since I don’t remember everything I read, it was also at times confusing for me.

This is a very bad review, in fact I realised that it’s not so much a review as me just rambeling. I make it a point to write about every book that I read, just so I will remember what I was thinking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

