Skip to content

Moviefriday: Batman & Robin

September 4, 2015

Batman & Robin

Title: Batman & Robin

Starring: Arnold Schwarzenegger, George Clooney, Chris O’Donnell, Uma Thurman and Alicia Silverstone


Batman and Robin are back working side-by-side to stop the villains of Gotham City, but there is tension appearing between them, especially when one villainess who calls herself Poison Ivy can make anyone fall in love with her…literally. Along with Poison Ivy, the ice Mr. Freeze is freezing anything which gets in his way from achieving his goal.


This movie first came out in 1997, and I did see it not long after (I think), and I just watched it again. I still find the movie amusing πŸ™‚

The characters:

Bruce/Batman: He’s the rich guy who wants to save the world (or at least Gotham City). He is trying to be a hero by putting away villains/criminals/bad guys, and it’s working quite well. Everyone know that Batman will be there to save them if they need help. Bruce does have a soft spot for his butler: Alfred, he might even think of him as family. He doesn’t evolve much during the movie, although he does think a bit more about family and about Robin as his partner and not his sidekick in the end.

Dick Grayson/Robin: Since I don’t remember seeing other Batman-movies at the moment, I don’t really know which relationship Bruce and Robin have (someone tell me please, that way I won’t have to google it… πŸ™‚ ) He is easily enarmoured by pretty women, and feels like he’s living in Batman’s shadow.

Barbara Wilson/Batgirl: Sure, she does have some asskicking to do, but mostly (at least to me) she’s there to be pretty/hot.

Mr. Freeze/Dr. Victor Fries: a coldhearted man that want’s the world to be as misrable as he is. He still have love for his wife though.

Poison Ivy/Dr. Pamela Isley: Her transformation fasinated me. I wouldn’t want to meet her though, I quite like humans walking the earth…

Alfred Pennyworth: he’s always in the shadow and he knows everything at all times. I’ve been wondering; how is he capable of making all the things for Batman and Robin, and Batgirl..? The costumes and the vehicles.. how?

Out of these characters, Alfred is my favourite with Poison Ivy as a close second. After all Poison Ivy is a rather kick-ass female character πŸ™‚

The plot of the movie was okay, but not really that special. Usually I don’t care that much about goofs like clothes changehing when they’re not supposed to. There was one thing that did bug me though, when something freezes, if it’s being turned, it will break… At least that happened for a lot of the things, but they seemed to have missed that little detail in the end of the movie… Apart from that, I enjoyed the movie πŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

